Wolfwalkers wins big at Irish Animation Awards

The Oscar-nominated film Wolfwalkers from Kilkenny studio Cartoon Saloon was the big winner in this year’s Irish Animation Awards, (Friday 21st May) coming away with four awards in total, including Best Irish Feature or Special. This year’s event was broadcast live online and was hosted by Irish TV and radio star Baz Ashmawy.

Dublin studio Kavaleer came away with three awards for their CBBC show Boy, Girl, Dog, Cat, Mouse, Cheese, including the coveted Best Animated Kids Series award.

Cartoon Saloon also picked up two awards for their animated kids series, Dorg Van Dango, while Magic Light Pictures and Giant Animation’s BBC feature Zog and the Flying Doctors picked up an award for Best Storyboarding. The winner of the Best Animated Short Film was Her Song, which portrayed the harrowing story of the Mother and Baby Homes and was featured on RTÉ’s The Late Late Show in January.

The awards this year featured four new categories, including Best Storyboarding, Best Editing, Best Student Film and Best New Irish IP.

Commenting on the awards ceremony, Animation Ireland Chief Executive, Ronan McCabe, said;’This was the most competitive year any of us have ever seen at the Irish Animation Awards. It has never been harder to win an Irish Animation Award and judging by the way the animation industry is growing in Ireland, it isn’t going to get any easier next time. It’s really heartening to see that the sector has continued to produce outstanding work and that the future remains bright for Irish animation. As with every other year, the 2021 Irish Animation Awards is a time to celebrate the strength and vibrancy of the sector.’’

Ronan went on to say; ‘’One award that we were especially pleased with is Best Student Film, won this year by Cora McKenna for Shergar. Animation Ireland has been working hard over the past five years to develop job opportunities in animation and to encourage more students to get involved in a great career choice.’’

The Irish Animation Awards were sponsored this year by Screen Ireland, RTÉ, Northern Ireland Screen, Broadcasting Authority of Ireland, Enterprise Ireland, Animation Skillnet, Screen Skills Ireland, Gorilla Post, Toon Boom Animation, Philip Lee, Brophy Gillespie and Laztech.

Winners of each category received a statuette designed by animator, film maker and teacher Eimhin McNamara. The statuette resembles a Phenakistoscope which was an early animation device used to create an illusion of motion.

Animation Ireland is the trade association for Ireland’s animation studios, representing 32 member studios, who employ more than 2,000 people nationwide. The sector has seen meteoric growth in recent years, with the sector now generating almost €200 million for the economy annually, as Irish animation projects are viewed in over 120 countries worldwide.


Please note: Ronan McCabe is available for interview.

For more details on the Irish Animation Awards please visit www.irishanimationawards.ie 

For more information on Animation Ireland please visit www.animationireland.com


Rory Sweeney

Paul Allen & Associates

18 Fitzwilliam Square South, Dublin 2

01 676 9575/086 897 6442

Full List of Award Categories and Winners: 

Best Animated Preschool Series

Claude – Twinkle Toes Terry

Colin Williams, Tim Harper; Sixteen South 

Best Animated Kids Series 6+

Boy, Girl, Dog, Cat, Mouse, Cheese

Kavaleer Productions 

Best Animated Short Film

Her Song

Éabha Bortolozzo, Jack Kirwan; Radii Animation

Best International Short Film

Something Borrowed

Micky Wozny, Andrew St Maur

Best Writer for Preschool Animation


Andrew Brenner; Paper Owl Films 

Best Writer for an Animated Series

Boy Girl Dog Cat Mouse Cheese – Neighbourhood Watchdog

Baljeet Rai, Henry Gifford; Kavaleer 

Best Animation for Apps, Games and Interactive


Jason Tammemagi, Meabh Tammemagi; Mooshku 

Best Art Direction and Design


Maria Pareja; Cartoon Saloon 

Best Director of an Animated Series

Dorg Van Dango

Fabian Erlinghauser, Matt Ferguson; Cartoon Saloon 

Best Animation Sequence


Cartoon Saloon 

Best Music

Dorg Van Dango

Leo Pearson, Cartoon Saloon

Best Sound Design

Dead Hands of Dublin

Fransisco Rios; Pink Kong Studios, Gorilla Post, 

Best Irish Feature or Special


Tomm Moore, Ross Stewart; Cartoon Saloon

Best Storyboarding

Zog and the Flying Doctors

Stephen Duignan, Christian Puille and Greta Traldi; Magic Light Pictures/ Giant Animation 

Best Editing


Richie Cody, Darragh Byrne, Darren Holmes A.C.E; Cartoon Saloon 

Best Student Film


Cora McKenna

Best Irish IP

Critters TV – Series 1

Aidan O’Donovan, Colm Tobin; Turnip & Duck Ltd.

Best Newcomer 

Studio Meala


Sir Mouse

Salty Dog Pictures 


Boy Girl Dog Cat Mouse Cheese

Kavaleer Productions