Animation Ireland joins newly unveiled Animation Europe


Animation Ireland has joined the newly founded Animation Europe.

The new federation is made up of 14 different organisations representing the animation industry around Europe has been unveiled at MIPCOM in Cannes.

Animation Europe comprises 14 producer organisations from 12 countries and has been created to defend the interests of independent producers across the continent.

Groups involved include Belgium’s Anim.Be, Denmark’s Animationscirclen and Producentforeningen, France’s SPFA, Finland’s Finnanimation and Germany’s Produzenten Allianz.

Also joining the new federation are Cartoon Italia, Animation Ireland, the Lithuanian Animation Association, Poland’s SPPA, Portugal’s APPA, Spain’s Diboos and Proanimats (Catalonia), and the Netherlands’ VNAP.

Elections to the inaugural board were held in Cannes, with Philippe Alessandri, president of the SPFA, voted in as chairman.

Tom Van Waveren, of VNAP, is vice chair along with Robert Jaszczurowski from SPPA, Anne-Sophie Vanhollebeke of Cartoon Italia and Tony Loeser from Produzenten Allianz.

Alessandri said: “We will have three main focusses. One is to get all broadcasters and OTT platforms airing in Europe to invest in original European content. Another is help build an animation industry in Europe by securing public funding. And a third is to defend film and TV animation producer interests with European authorities in Brussels.”

The federation will meet every year at MipJunior, Cartoon Forum and Annecy.