Irish Animation Awards – Nominations


Animation Ireland are delighted to announce the nominees for the second Irish Animation Awards.

The awards, sponsored by RTÉ Jr, The Irish Film Board & Philip Lee, will take place in Dingle on Saturday March 25th.

The Irish Animation Awards was created to acknowledge and celebrate the outstanding creative talent we have within the Irish Animation, VFX and gaming industries.

We would like to thank everyone that entered. There was a significant increase in entries since the first Irish Animation Awards reflecting the substantial growth in the industry.

Congratulations & Best of Luck to all the nominees.

Best Animated Preschool Series (up to 6 years)

‘Lily’s Driftwood Bay’ – Sixteen South Production Team

‘Little Roy’ – JAM Media Production team

‘Puffin Rock’ – Maurice Joyce: Director

Kid’s Choice Award For Best Animated Series

‘Danger Mouse’ – Peter Lewis

‘Roy’ – JAM Media Production team

‘Wander over Yonder’ – Peter Lewis: Producer, Gillian Comerford: Director, Pete Slattery: Animation Director

Best Animated Short Film

‘City of Roses’ – Andrew Kavanagh: Director

‘Geist’ – Alex Sherwood: Director, Ben Harper: Director, Sean Mullen: Director

‘Second to None’ – Vincent Gallagher

Best Writer for Preschool Animation (up to 6 years)

‘Doc McStuffins: Welcome to McStuffinsville’ – Chris Nee, Kent Redeker

‘Octonauts: The Great Swamp Search’ – Stephanie Simpson

‘Puffin Rock: The First Snow’ – Davey Moore, Sara Daddy

Best Writer for an Animated Series

‘Brain Freeze: (DNA): Is Every Human Being Unique?’ – Colm Tobin & Aidan O’Donovan

‘Roy: Karma Chameleon’ –  Dave Rice

‘Roy: ROY 2.0’ – Mark Hodkinson

Best VFX as part of Animated TV Series or Film

‘Brain Freeze’ – Ian Benjamin Kenny

‘Go Jetters’ – Rob Fletcher, Mario Bortas, Rodrigo Rocha

‘Wander Over Yonder’ – Peter Lewis: Producer, Gillian Comerford: Director, Deirdre Behan: FX Lead

Best Animation for Apps and Gaming

‘Her Majesty’s SPIFFING’ – Production Team, William Barr & Alan Martin

‘The Little Acre’ – Pewter Games Production Team

‘Little Roy’s Wonder Doodler’ – Niall Mooney: Director, Will Wivell: Animator, Travis McNulty: Animator
Scott McDonnell:Producer

Best Design and Art Direction

‘Bernard Dunne’s Mythical Heroes’ – Ian Benjamin Kenny

‘Octonauts’ – Stephen O’Connor

‘Puffin Rock’ – Lily Bernard, Stefano Scapolan

Best Director of an Animated TV Series

‘Danger Mouse’ – Rob Cullen

‘Lily’s Driftwood Bay’ – Tim Harper, Colin Williams

‘Little Roy’ – Alan Shannon

Best Animation

‘Puffin Rock’ – Animation Team

‘The Day Henry Met a Camera’ – Gilly: Director, Susan Broe: Producer, Andrew Dawson: Animation Director

‘Two by Two – Oops! The Ark Has Gone’ – Moetion Films Animation Team

Best Music and Sound Design

‘Brain Freeze’ – Stephen Kelly, Steve Lynch & Giles Packham

‘Danger Mouse’ – Dominic Lawrence: Supervising Sound Editor & Dubbing Mixer, Sol O’Carroll: Sound Editor, Andy Kirwan: Sound Editor

‘Go Jetters’ – Carl Cullen: Supervising Sound Editor & Dubbing Mixer, Edward Costello: Sound Editor

Best Irish Feature Film or Special

‘Song of the Sea’ – Tomm Moore

‘Two by Two – Oops! The Ark Has Gone’ – Moetion Films Team

‘Wander over Yonder: My Fair Hatey’ – Producer: Peter Lewis, Director: Gillian Comerford, Animation Director: Pete Slattery/Stephen McGann

The Irish Animation Awards are brought to you by

rtejr-logo Logo Red Philip_Lee_Primary-RGB